Not resolved

On June 14, 2017 at around 11:30am, AZ time, I contacted Gate1 travel concerning the 11 day Affordable China with 4 Yangtze River cruise (LA) special.I talked to Edward (number for agent provided upon request).

I inquired if I could pay the whole price of this tour including land and air, can I book the tour and not use the flights from L AX and back since I will already be in Hong Kong. He truly never let me finish, he had to talk over me. Then he apologized and said, "Oh sorry I didnt let you finish. So I said again that I am willing to pay the whole fare, I didnt want to take the air amount off.

He stated that they didnt advice that and I asked "Who doesn't advice that and is there a reason? Was it a Visa requirement with flight, or what? He stated it was just what the package is and you cannot change it (of course speaking over me again). Then I asked him if there was someone else that could answer my question and he said that there was no one there that could answer that question.

(Of course speaking over me again). I said I just truly want to know why they say it is not advisable and he said, in very unprofessional manner and in a raised voice, "I just told you why we cant do it", that is when I asked for his employee number so I can pass his unprofessional behavior to whomever might be in charge of your travel representatives. I have only been on one tour with your company and the last tour my travel agent worked with your company reps, and she was put on hold disconnected, etc., and truly doesn't like to work with your company, now I truly understand why. I unfortunately already booked a tour in March through your company, because if I was treated like this from that customer service representative, I would never have booked the tour with you.

I travel a lot and will not recommend this tour company, unless you book directly online and have no questions.I am sure you have some representatives that are professional; especially your actual tour guides, but some new training needs to be done with this particular customer service representative.

Review about: Have Not Bought A Tour Yet.

Review #1061003 is a subjective opinion of a user.

3.7
Price Affordability
Staff
Exchange, Refund and Cancellation Policy
Value for money
Additional Fees
Discounts and Special Offers
Customer service
Insurance Quality
Number of Destinations
Product or Service Quality
Website
PRODUCT OR SERVICE Gate1travel Customer Care
Reason of Review / Monetary Loss Poor customer service / Not specified
Preferred solution Not specified

Had an Experience with Gate1travel?

Write a review

Comments

Comment as anonymous or
Terms of Service
Post Comment
Cancel
Gate1Travel
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania, United States #1343130

Hello,We sincerely apologize for any lapse in service when contacting us with your questions. Please know that we have reviewed and shared the concerns you have outlined with our management team. Please dont hesitate to call us and request to speak with a supervisor as we do want to be able to assist you.

Anonymous
Los Angeles, California, United States #1342710

When in doubt and not getting an answer you want than ask for a supervisor.But they are human too.

The CSR (customer service representative) will go the extra mile for the customer that isn't passive aggressive towards them and is patient and calm with them. Even if they aren't the best with us then we can try to change the course of attitude.

If that doesn't work...."Supervisor name and number and I will wait for him/her please".

voban
#1342157

Even though the rep was rude, your question makes no sense.Why would you book land and air if you're NOT going to use the air?

You always have the option to just book land and do what you want with your own air bookings.Weird.

LD
Brampton, Ontario, Canada #1341410

I too spoke to Edward unfortunately 2 times.He does not represent Gate1 in my opinion.

He is very rude and answers questions very abruptly. If I ever got him again I would simply hang up. But I have had other good experiences. The reason why he spoke this way to you is they do get commissions.

Edward doesn't deserve my time at all.

What I do is when I like the agent I get their extensions and call them directly even if I have to leave a message.I do also think that most of these agents work from their homes (?).

Anonymous
Jacksonville, Florida, United States #1340263

Kind of confused about your request, so I may be providing wrong info.Why don't you just purchase the land portion only?

Then purchase outside of Gate 1 the flights you need, if any. If there is an intra flight on the tour, it comes with the land portion.

Of course by doing this you risk your outside purchased flights if they cancel the tour.I normally purchase land/air together through Gate 1, for this reason, but once used miles for the air purchase and took the chance.

You May Also Like

Airbnb - Rental in bad neighborhood Airbnb "I rented an apartment for my employees on N. Bliss St, Anchorage, AK. We traveled from TN to Anchorage, AK for a job. I got there early so I went..." Read more We have had a great time at the Omni Cancun...we cant stay enough good things about Omni & BookVIP! Bookvip "We booked this package through BookVIP and were a little skeptical at first at the savings but glad we did! We loved the cleanliness in room and throughout resort, friendly..." Read more Gate1travel - Iceland in the summer Gate1travel "I wondered what to wear/take for summer. We used mostly lightweight long sleeve. Windy a lot. Jacket should have a hood. Walking stick for me as..." Read more Airbnb Nightmare Review Airbnb "Very disappointed by airbnb's customer service in helping find a resolution for the cancellation of a recent booking. Although I provided strong rationale for booking cancellation including misrepresentation of property..." Read more Bids Dot Com - Bids.com liars and scammers Bids Dot Com "Bids.com is a online auction platform, based here: 659 S Broadway Suite #813 Los Angeles, CA 90014 You can buy coins and bet on items and even cash. I have..." Read more CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST ACORN STAIRLIFTS Acorn Stairlifts "If you own an outdoor Acorn stairlift, an Acorn 130 or 180 from 2014 or newer you can qualify to be part of a class action lawsuit against Acorn Stairlifts...." Read more Michael Lupolover Michael Lupolover "Lupolover and his team of telemarketers engaged in illegal telemarketing to my phone. My phone is registered on the DNC registry found at donotcall.gove Lupolover is subject to a Consumer..." Read more Volvo Cars - Transmission Volvo Cars "i bought a 2004 low milage was 99,000 and the transmission went on me then replace it the same problem i need my car to take my son to school..." Read more