Most helpful review
New Reviewer

Avoid Gate 1 Travel- it's bad news

Background:Back in August 2008, with much enthusiasm and excitement we (my wife and I) made a reservation for a sight seeing tour to Egypt, from March 16 to 25 , 2009, with GATE1 Travel (10 Day Egypt For Less with 4 Day Nile Cruise). We decided to make an early...
View full review
View full review
92 comments
#2059476

What is Gate 1's response to this mess. I am so sorry you went through all this. Totally unacceptable.

View more comments
ID
#148554 Review #148554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pleasanton, California
Service
Gate1travel Cruise Booking
Loss
$5000

Paymeny

To whom it may concern I would like to to receive the program with the tour and cities that will visit in turkey so I can buy the extra tickets thank you blanca
View full review
1 comment
#2222188

Dear Blanca, Please visit our website www.gate1travel.com to view our trips to Turkey and the cities we visit during our tours.

ID
#3806279 Review #3806279 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
New Reviewer

Bad escorted trip

Forms & everything submitted to Gate 1, even spoke with customer relations person named Nicole approx 2 weeks ago; I have called her practically every day & she will not return a phone call to me. I am very upset about a totally disappointing trip, bad tour guide, money saved for a nice trip wasted, & now your customer relations person who will not return a call to me, very poor service from a reputable company!!
View full review
1 comment
#2222192

Dear Donna, We apologize for the delay in responding. We hope this matter has been resolved to your satisfaction.

Please reach out and request the department manager if it has not. This way we can review the matter.

ID
#3626695 Review #3626695 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

I have a trip coming up #208****

I need the flight information and any information on what documentation I need for covid 19. My trip is for June 16
View full review
2 comments
#2222193

Dear Yesenia, We hope you received the information you needed and had a wonderful trip.

#2223033
@Gate1Travel

Yes I received it just in time, had a wonderful time, will definitely plan more trips with Gate1

View more comments (1)
ID
#3606724 Review #3606724 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Our tour guide Daniel Rivero was outstanding. My wife and I have been traveling for 50 years and Daniel is the best tour guide we have ever had.

No complaint - our trip was great. Just wanted Gate 1 to know how great our tour guide (Daniel Rivero) was.
View full review
1 comment
#2179167

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our tour guide Daniel Rivero. You can be certain we will pass along your compliments for a "job well done".

ID
#3532110 Review #3532110 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kannapolis, North Carolina

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Refund

Gate1Travel - Refund
I still have not heard back from the past travel department of Gate1 travel for the second escorted tour on when I will be receiving the travel insurance of the total amount of $2000. It has now been 8 weeks of total frustration back and forth between arch travel insurance and gate 1. They are using one another to play the blame game of not hearing back so they can resolve the issue. It would be wonderful to get this resolved once and for all.

User's recommendation: Use to always refer friends to Gate1 not anymore. Awful experience.

View full review
1 comment
#2179166

Dear Saheed, While we do not know the particulars surrounding your insurance claim, there are times claims may take longer than anticipated as specifics surrounding the claim are reviewed. Please reach out to ARCH insurance for assistance or Gate 1 via our contact us page, so we may assist you.

ID
#3499149 Review #3499149 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Laguna Woods, California

Lack of Insurance Assistance

1-I was feloniously assaulted 1 day before my trip. Fortunately I was not seriously injured but I was unable to go on the trip. Because my event was within 72 hours, it was not covered under "cancel for any reason". Because I was not injured enough to seek medical...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3498046 Review #3498046 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida

To recognize a travel agent

I want to recognize Russell Gilman. This travel agent is a true asset to Gate 1. His knowledge, professionalism and cooperation with me was above satisfactory. He insure that I receive the maximum customer service and dedicated all the time necessary for me to successfully book a trip to Greece. Jose Bonilla
View full review
ID
#3481671 Review #3481671 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miami, Florida

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: No response from Gate 1

Update by user Apr 26, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with full refund. They contacted me and apologized and did indeed issue a refund..

Original review posted by user Apr 06, 2022
We booked the trip back before the pandemic and they had to cancel at that point but only offered a future trip for our deposit so we tried again but the pandemic flared up and after calling and emailing for weeks, we were finally able to book for later in the year. Now there is a war near where our tour is but no amount of calling or emailing can rouse a response from this derelict company. Goodbye deposit, I give up!They claim toThdon

User's recommendation: don't use them, sorry to say.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#3466704 Review #3466704 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Price
Cons
  • Unprofessional treatment i received
  • If something goes wrong
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Airline seating/tsa precheck#

I have been waiting to speak to an agent since 1030 this am. I leave in two days and still havent got the correct seat assignment even though I was assured a month ago it had been handled. We have use gate one for 6 prior trips. I am more than irritated and frustrated.

User's recommendation: If you need customer service you are in trouble these days.

View full review
1 comment
#2155834

Dear Catherine, We regret your frustration in trying to reach us. We have been working hard to get our staffing back to our pre pandemic levels.

We have hired several new team members and I am certain you will see a vast improvement in our handling time the next time you reach out to us.

I am glad you were able to speak with someone prior to your departure. Wishing you a wonderful trip.

ID
#3426042 Review #3426042 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kansas City, Missouri
Pros
  • Tours they offer are very enjoyable and extremely affordable
  • Super friendly reservation agent-- helpful and efficient
  • Good prices
Cons
  • Lack of customer service care
  • Lack of communication
  • Horrible customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

No response to my request for assistance, emailed 2/15/22. Know you're busy, love gate 1 but I am peeved

I had to cancel a reservation. I knew I forfeited my $300 deposit, but when the check came an additional $300 had been deducted making a total of $600. I canceled within the 90 day time period. I spoke to a woman named Rut on 1/22/2022. I paid $5231.45 and was told I would get $4931.00 back. The check was for $4631.45.

User's recommendation: Gate 1 has historically been an excellent company to travel with.

View full review
1 comment
#2137307

There is not enough information to review your reservation however refunds are processed to the credit card(s) originally used for payment, up to the total amount paid, with any remaining balance paid by US Dollar check. You may want to look at the credit card used for deposit for a refund first.

ID
#3358907 Review #3358907 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Inverness, Florida

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Italys level 4 travel advisory Americans shouls avoid travel

We have a trip to Italy coming up, and then the CDC posted do not not travel to Italy So we were told many times that we could change the dates of our trip We didn't want to cancel and get our money back just change the dates to when Omnicom was over. Again, we were told many times that we could do this up till january 3rd. I called to move the date, and they are charging me 70% of the cost of the trip .They miss lead us and we are very disappointed. We are retired and on a fixed income
View full review
1 comment
#2118956

Hi Peter, We are sorry you have decided to cancel your trip to Italy. Although there is not enough information to review your specific booking, please know there are restrictions as to when you can utilize the flexible change policy, including that it must be done before final payment is made. If you feel you need to review this further, please reach out to us via telephone or our "Contact Us" page.

ID
#3205075 Review #3205075 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Every customer service action they take
Loss
$1200
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Can't get into My Account

Cant get into my account and tried new password and no luck. Traveling to Egypt in March 2022 abs need balance ot trip to pay now.
View full review
1 comment
#2113061

Hi Bob - If you are still having trouble logging into your account, please reach out to us via our Contact Us page and provide your Contact ID so we can assist you.

ID
#3191760 Review #3191760 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carlsbad, California
Preferred solution
Balance to pay for trip to Egypt in March 2022 by check.

Travel Agencies Expert Talks

How to Travel Safely During the Pandemic

Apr 2, 2021

Top travel tips during the Covid-19 shared by a travel journalist: 1. Research the destination; 2. Check safety measures; 3. Check the airline’s policies; 4. Download the airline’s app; 5. Double check your reservation; 6. Build flexibility into your travel plan. In this interview with a travel expert you can learn how to travel safely, how to book online, how to refund a canceled trip.

Latifah Al-Hazza
Latifah Al-Hazza

Latifah Al-Hazza is a travel expert who visited over 50 countries. She is also a co-founder of Women's Travel Company and an Emmy Award-Winning travel journalist.

New Reviewer

They canceled the pink jeep tour

Just wondered if they will send a check out, I paided the full amount by check. And when will it arrive?
View full review
1 comment
#2068942

Refunds are processed to the credit card(s) originally used for payment, up to the total amount paid, with any remaining balance paid by US Dollar check.

ID
#2906449 Review #2906449 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Hotels were fabulous
  • Large selection of vacations
  • Iteneraries were great
Preferred solution
Refund on excursion, pink jeep tour.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Experience with Gate 1 Travel

Two booked trips, back to back, with flights for both booked by Gate 1 Travel. The first trip was to Croatia, Slovenia and Venice. This was still being offered. The second trip was to Bulgaria, Serbia and Romania. Gate 1 Travel canceled this trip, resulting in our...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2848547 Review #2848547 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Great tours
Cons
  • Abismal staffing
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund

Can't book online

Called the toll free number and you needed a name or extension number in order to talk to someone or it hangs up on you.
View full review
1 comment
#2038346

We do not currently have a toll free number. If you are trying to contact Gate 1 Travel, our number is 1-215-572-7676 if you have questions about a booking a new reservation or if you have questions about one you have already made. Additionally you can send an inquiry via our contact us page here: https://www.gate1travel.com/contactus Kindly be patient as we are experiencing a high volume of calls and inquiries

ID
#2705089 Review #2705089 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mississauga, Ontario

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article