Show reviews that mention
trip gate tour travel gate travel guide customer service hotel service gate1
Filter review
Most helpful review
Background:Back in August 2008, with much enthusiasm and excitement we (my wife and I) made a reservation for a sight seeing tour to Egypt, from March 16 to 25 , 2009, with GATE1 Travel (10 Day Egypt For Less with 4 Day Nile Cruise). We decided to make an early...
View full review
View full review
96 comments
#1911463

I have travelled numerous times with Gate 1 and each time they have exceeded all expectations! I am a very experienced traveler and have been to over 65 counties.

I have been called a hotel snob by many friends and family. I have traveled solo as well as with groups. In my experience, with travel, you get what you paid for.

Perhaps you should deal with an experienced travel agent that can fit you to the proper travel experience. You should ask around from friends, family & coworkers who they use and interview the agent before putting money down.

View more comments
ID
#148554 Review #148554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pleasanton, California
Service
Gate1travel Cruise Booking
Loss
$5000

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Reservation 182****

Update by user Sep 17, 2020

Issues resolved.

Update by user Sep 16, 2020

After submitting this review and request on their website, they just called me and emailed me with the answers I was requesting. I can't believe everything was resolved so quickly.

Original review posted by user Sep 16, 2020
Would like to talk to someone about our refund. I can be reached at 206.818.3838.

User's recommendation: Use a travel agent.

View full review
ID
#2173030 Review #2173030 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Gate1Travel 13 Day Kaleidoscope Of Morocco Tour
Pros
  • Variety of tour
Cons
  • Long waiting time to contact gate1 rep
Loss
$2500
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Credit only for cancelled optional Excursion Due Covid19

We paid all optional excursions in advance per representative's advice however, since we got in the middle of this pandemic, the optional excursion got suddenly cancelled and Gate 1 wouldn't refund our money $ 150.00 instead give us credit for future travel. In what's happening lately and my age I'm not sure about future travel and we can use this money now for immediate use. We travelled with other companies and if optional excursions got cancelled we get refunded for our money and decide later if we would travel again. In case of Gate 1 they give only credit and I'm very disappointed and may not trust them again .We are also upset about the travel arrangement that happened to us due to the sudden lockdown in the city and Gate 1 not being able to help us with the return travel. We panicked a lot in that place since we can't get a return trip home. I hope Gate 1 would offer customers a better experience especially for first time travelers with them.

User's recommendation: Be careful of cheaper trips since they overcharge in the end. Not worth it.

View full review
1 comment
#1931083

Hi Bella, There is not enough information for us to review your reservation to advise why you received a credit and not a refund. If you have any questions as to why, we would encourage you to reach out to us by using the contact us link on our website and select"Feedback about a trip you've completed"

ID
#2120000 Review #2120000 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Gate1travel Vacation Package Booking
Pros
  • Hotels are great and centrally located
Cons
  • Bad customer service
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Full refund
My trip was scheduled for Mar 19 2020 which was the start of Covid 19. We cancelled 10 days before the trip for fear of catching Covid and were given credit for the land and insurance except $400 assessed fee from the airlines. Three or 4 days later, Gate 1 cancelled...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2116880 Review #2116880 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Gate1travel Tour Booking
Pros
  • Good selection of tours
  • Good tour guides
  • Specials and discounts
Cons
  • Long waiting time to contact gate1 rep
  • Lack of accountability
  • Bad customer service
Loss
$219
Preferred solution
Full refund

Gate 1 cancelled our 3 trips and we want a refund

We have taken over 10 trips with gate1, this is our 50 Th anniversary and booked 3 trip that we've save for many years for. Now we have all this money tied up and we cannot afford it.. We just want our money back and will rebook when it is safe to travel... Thank you

User's recommendation: Depends on if we are refunded.

View full review
1 comment
#1890806

Hi Donna M, While there is not sufficient information to review your particular reservation we would suggest that you call us at 215-572-7676 to review your concerns and make the agent aware of your preference for a refund if possible.

ID
#2021720 Review #2021720 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$6000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Want a refund not a credit

I'm being told that I can only get a credit and only for certain parts of my trip SO why are some people getting refunds.. Are we not all equally high on their priority list PIssed because we save for years for these 3 trips for our 50 Th anniversary and can't get our money back...
View full review
ID
#2021692 Review #2021692 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Your trust is our top priority

  • 100% user-generated content
  • Professional automated and live moderation
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Equal Opportunity and Protection
  • Verified content

For more information about PissedConsumer check out our Blog article

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

If you want your money stolen

First know that I have waited close to a year before writing this review to make sure it is written with a clear mind and not just out of emotion. We had only travelled outside the country one other time to adopt and everything was handled by the agency so we did not know what it entailed and I relied on Gate One Travel for assistance. BIG MISTAKE! It was early June when I first contacted them to make arrangements potentially for a trip later in August. My major concern was getting things prepared and getting visas on time. The lady I first spoke to put me on hold to check if this was possible. She came back on the phone and informed me it only takes a few weeks for a visa, recommended they like to use Gen Visa, and we would be fine. She then asked If I would like to purchase additional insurance just in case something happened and we were notable to make the flight. I agreed to the insurance, paid the $600 cost to start and informed I could pay the rest to help keep things moving along. I paid the additional money and then everything fell apart. When months later I spoke with another person I was told that they don't have anyone at the company they could checks visa times with so the first lady flat out put me on hold and then lied to me. I also later found out after losing over $4000 that the insurance I was given was a third party insurance that covers illness. Believe me, the day the plane left without us I was very sick to my stomach and dealing with dangerously high blood pressure from being out all that money. I later found out that they have a different insurance through their company which they quote as a Travel Protection Plan-Cancel For any Reason for only $69.00. Also found out too late that you get a discount if you take the time to mail them a check rather than paying immediately by credit card. Once you pay in full you are locked in and CANNOT cancel or make any changes. I do not know why the visa place they recommended (Gen Visa) as having no problems with the timeframe took nine weeks to process visas when I hear it is usually significantly shorter. We were notified the day after the flight departed that the visas were ready. My complaint with Gate One Travel is 1) Why did a service representative put me on hold then lie to me when they have no way to check on visa times. I could have easily scheduled the trip at any time later as necessary if not lied to. 2) Why knowing my only concern, was I offered a worthless more expensive third party insurance when their Travel Protection Plan-Cancel For Any Reason was cheaper and covers what was my original main concern? 3) Why was I not informed that since I have such concerns I should NOT pay in full thus locking out any potential ability to change? I could better handle having to absorbed a $600 starting cost, changed dates and still letting my adopted daughter see where she came from and learn about her culture. On advice from a Gate One representative I am now out over $4000 and it will probably be another decade before saving enough money to attempt this trip again for my daughter. All this because Gate One seems to only be concerned about getting the money, lying and not actually caring for the customers. I also did not appreciate when they contacted me to say since I missed the flight they were giving up the rest of the trip reservations and was their anything else they could help me book for any other travel destinations. Talk about adding insult to injury.

User's recommendation: Book with a different company that values you as a customer.

View full review
ID
#1900734 Review #1900734 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Gate1travel Protection Plan
Cons
  • Misleading sales
Loss
$4186
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

No refund for april 11 trip

have asked twice for refund to be processed
View full review
ID
#1880716 Review #1880716 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Increased in price from that advertised.

We had booked a trip to China which was cancelled through no fault of Gate 1 due to the Corona virus. We decided to use our refund to book a trip to Italy as a graduation present for my Grandson. We booked the trip through a Gate 1 agent and then upon consideration decided to change the date. We called Gate 1 and a different agent advised that the price we had been given was $400 too cheap and even though we decided to keep the original date we were charged an additional $400. Even though the price we had been originally charged was the price on their website they refused to relent. We were forced to either forfeit our deposit which was a lot more than $400 and book with another tour group or agree to the unwarranted $400 increase. Even though I am an attorney and could have easily sued the terms of their contract requires that if you sue Gate 1 it must be done in Miami Florida (almost a thousand miles from where we live.

User's recommendation: Don't expect the price listed on Gate 1 website to be the price you are charged even after you book your rip.

View full review
ID
#1845916 Review #1845916 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Tours they offer are very enjoyable and extremely affordable
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Cancel trip

I want to cancel my trip. The rest of my payment is due this week and I will not be paying it. Also I paid my airline ticket in full. I want a refund.

User's recommendation: Answer the phone.

View full review
ID
#1837837 Review #1837837 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Full refund

Latest Question

How do I book a tour on Gate1Travel.com? What is a maximum of travelers in a group?

Gate1travel Questions

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Update by user Mar 20, 2020

Monetary loss is about $6,500

Original review posted by user Mar 20, 2020
We had a trip booked with Gate 1 to Croatia for 28 Apr 2020 with a flight thru Venice and travel insurance. Gate 1 Canceled the Trip due to The Corona virus. Further We are elderly and the CDC has advised us not to travel. Gate 1 was happy...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1830916 Review #1830916 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$7
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Switzerland

Gate1travel - Switzerland
I am concerned about the coronavirus for this trip...mostly about being quarantined on the return flight to Miami from Milan..do I have any options to fly out out of another city? Or would it be possible for me to reschedule this trip or even swap it for the new England fall foliage trip?? 706 881 ****
View full review
ID
#1807267 Review #1807267 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

They have cancel for any reason for $169.00 but don't share that

We booked a trip to Europe and I purchased insurance. As I go to cancel they have a full refund if you notify them 60 days or more before. I notified them 63 days before. WHY are they keeping $2,800 They are crooks and don't trust them. The women who took my call said I needed to do it in writing and I did it twice in writing but they don't acknowledge it. So disappointedd. I will be using Perillo tours from now on.
View full review
ID
#1799850 Review #1799850 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Travelex Travel Insurance

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Stay away

Our trip in January 2020 to Myanmar did have many issues and bad experiences. After return we did contact Gate1 multiple times on the phone and e mails.No solution and respond.Be avare that Gate1 will not help you with any issue or problems after they get your money.This was very disappointing experience on our bucket list trip.
View full review
3 comments
#1825684

We are currently reviewing your claim. Upon review it appears that the agent has responded to your emails in a timely manner.

Sometimes, these matters can take time as we must contact various suppliers in order to fully investigate. We appreciate your continued patience and will reach out to you once we have more details.

#1825702
@Gate1Travel

Only response from the agent was:"I’m hoping to have an update soon and I will be sure to circle back around to you." exact words from email

#1825674

We are currently reviewing your claim. Upon review it appears that the agent has responded to your emails in a timely manner.

Sometimes, these matters can take time as we must contact various suppliers in order to fully investigate. We appreciate your continued patience and will reach out to you once we have more details.

View more comments (2)
ID
#1790740 Review #1790740 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Gate1travel Tour
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Why i wait for issue my ticket ?

i book ticket from dubai to cairo before three days and the ticket not isuue why? ref no 540****
View full review
1 comment
#1770484

Hello, I am not sure that you booked your tickets through our company. We are Gate 1 Travel, a U.S.based tour operator. It seems you may have booked through Gate 1 which is a European consolidator whom we have no association with.

ID
#1679771 Review #1679771 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
Reason of review
Bad quality

Terrible service .. beware

Gate1travel - Terrible service .. beware
Gate1travel - Terrible service .. beware
I booked a trip in Dec 2018, I needed to change the travel dates, I called two months before my trip in Sept 2019 to reschedule due to my son graduating from Navy Bootcamp. They told me no military was not a good enough reason, that I’d have to cancel and they’d keep almost $2000 and I could book a new trip at the new $3,000 rate. They told me to contact the insurance company and now they’ve blamed their vendors, it’s everybody’s problem but theirs. I missed the trip and lost $2,000 for my portion, my bf traveled solo with strangers. NO fun! Don’t do business with this company. They have a $50 change fee why not let me use this and change my trip instead of taking my money? Greedy company only looking out for themselves.. read reviews you’ll see. @gate1travel #gate1travel
View full review
7 comments
#1806801

Next time use ACIS. They truly stand behind their product. And yes they are more money but then agaibn you do get what you pay for!

#1781268

So you assumed your grad wouldn't graduate, booked a vacation during that time and when you found out they WOULD graduate, your non-refundable vacation wasn't refundable so that you could attend a graduation, you complain? Why on earth would any company give you a refund in this situation?

You deserve special treatment because this is a "military" graduation? I don't think so.

#1761334

Your final payment is due at least two months prior to travel, of course a graduation won't be considered an emergency, military or otherwise. These are scheduled way in advance. If you neglected to schedule your vacation around a graduation ceremony, that is on you.

#1761761
@PissedConsumer1761334

It’s also possible you’re used to dealing with companies with terrible customer service. It was my first and last experience.. My review is for military families who have leave approved and then changed unexpectedly by the US military should avoid this company.

#1764359
@PissedConsumer1761761

Why would you get special treatment because you failed to consider a graduation when planning a vacation? A graduation isn't a deployment.

You would not have gotten a refund from any other airline or travel company for this reason, so I hardly see this as a "Gate 1 problem". You are being unreasonable and bitter for your poor planning decisions.

#1764376
@PissedConsumer1764359

It is completely my problem because they could have helped but chose not to. This isn’t like a college graduation where you know years or months before what your grad date will be.

The week of navy graduation they still have to pass one more test that will determine if they graduate or not. This is the militaries way. There were families headed to graduation that were turned around because their sailor recruit did not pass. Guess what those hotels and airlines used were on the approved/ suggested list of companies to use.

My review still stands .. this company will not work with you if you are a military family .. use a tour group that will.

They will keep your money and blame the insurance co or their land vendors. The insurance & land vendors blame Gate1.

#1764378
@PissedConsumer1761334

So what happens if you paid in full in Dec 2018.. they got your money ..

you lose. So moral of the story don’t pay in full ..

or better yet. Use another tour company

View more comments (6)
ID
#1671482 Review #1671482 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Gate1travel Tour
Pros
  • Cheap vacations
Cons
  • Refuse to offer options when you need to make a change
  • Blame their vendors and customers
  • Lack of customer service care
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$2500
Preferred solution
Full refund